Why I Like Winter…

Elegant patterns on the coop window-chickens snug inside

Real Wisconsin winter is upon us, no more Mr Nice Guy!  The forecast was calling for negative single digits last night.  I’ve got the puffy down coat and -40 Carhart bib-overalls hanging in the hall.  Instead of just turning the light off in the chicken coop at 9pm, I switched them over to a red heat bulb for overnight.  Chicken popsicles are not my favorite flavor.  While the cold is dangerous and difficult to deal with, it is also heart-stoppingly beautiful.  As I crunched back to the house in the night, the stars looked so close, so bright, they just crowd the sky.  The half moon created shadows and made the snow sparkle.  The house ahead of me was lit up with warm yellow light, my loved ones inside.  Sigh…this is why I’m here…

One response to “Why I Like Winter…

  • Melissa Halstead

    I’m freezing down here in the 10’s and 20’s with a little cold front! We’re back up to the 50’s tomorrow. Enjoy it for me!

Leave a Reply

