Crunchy Juicy Fried Chicken

I usually make a chicken each weekend.  Fabulous as my birds are 🙂 things get a little boring and I need to ‘kick it up a notch’ every once and a while!  Erin requested the fried chicken she saw on an America’s Test Kitchen show-yeah, no cable or dish dramatically changes the viewing habits of teenagers!

I have to admit I was kind of grumbley going into it.  Cut up the chicken, bread the chicken, pan fry, and THEN put in the oven.  It sounded like a lot of work, it sounded like a lot of dishes.  Why couldn’t I just season a bird and stick it in the roaster?  BORING!  Time for something new!  The pan/oven fried chicken was amazing, really and truly delicious!  And all that crunchy breading for this low-carb girl–a huge treat.  The only downside to this recipe was leftovers-there were very few.

I was going to include a link to the recipe but the site has changed and now you have to sign up for a 14 day ‘free trial’ using your credit card (!) Sorry folks.   To the best of my recollection the cut up chicken was first marinated 1 1/4 cup buttermilk for a couple of hours.  The breading was 2 c flour, 2 tsp baking powder, salt, pepper and cayenne pepper mixed together then 1/4 cup buttermilk worked in to give coarse crumbs.  Bread thickly then brown each side-skin side down first- in a hot pan of oil.  I used about a 1/4 inch of coconut oil ( I have banned nasty oxidized vegetable oils from my kitchen-look it up!)in the bottom of the pan,  After browned on all sides move the chicken to the 350 degree oven on a wire rack (i used a broiler pan).  Cook until temps reach 160 in the breast, maybe 20 -30 minutes.  Kind of a pain but WOW, I will make this again (as long as the kids do the dishes!)

Leave a Reply

